Real Estate

License Information

Real Estate Sales Associates

A sales associate is a person who, for another, and for compensation or in anticipation of compensation, appraises, auctions, sells, exchanges, buys, rents or offers, attempts or agrees to appraise, auction, or negotiate any sale, exchange, purchase, or rental of business enterprises or any real property or any interest in or concerning the same or who advertises the same, but who performs such act under the direction, control, or management of a broker or owner/developer.

Classes

63 Hours Pre-License

45 Hours Post-License

Real Estate Brokers

A broker is a person who, for another, and for compensation or in anticipation of compensation, appraises, auctions, sells, exchanges, buys, rents or offers, attempts or agrees to appraise, auction, or negotiate any sale, exchange, purchase, or rental of business enterprises or any real property or any interest in or concerning the same or who advertises the same.

Classes

72 Hours Pre-License

60 Hours Post-License

Florida Dept. of Business & Professional Regulation

Sales Associate Initial Application
The 63 hour sales associate pre-licensing class is a required course to become a licensed sale associate in the State of Florida. 

Find Out More

Broker Initial Application
Experience Requirement: Held active sale associate license under a active broker for 24 months during the five-year preceding application.

Find Out More

Requirements
Education
Application
Post-License

How To Get Started In Real Estate?

  • Must be at least 18 years old 
  • Must hold a high school diploma or its equivalent (GED) 
  • You must have a United States Social Security number to apply. 
  • You may visit the Social Security website for information on how to obtain one.

Educational Requirements

  • Prior to sitting for the state exam you must show proof of class completion of Florida approved 63 hour pre-License education for Sales Associates. 
  • The class is good for two (2) years from the date of completion. An expired course will not be accepted at the exam site and you will not be able to sit for your exam without proof of a valid course completion slip. 
  • The class is not required at the time of application submission. You may submit application for state exam approval prior to taking the pre-license education. 
  • Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and the fee.
  • Pass the Florida Real Estate Sales Associate Examination with a grade of at least 75 out of 100 points or pass the Florida Real Estate Law Exam with a grade of at least 30 out of 40 points.
  • Activate your license using the DBPR RE 11-Become Active – Sales Associate or Broker Sales Associate form
  • Have your employing broker activate your new license online using the broker’s online accounting 

Fees, Fingerprinting, & Application

  • Pay the required fee as provided in the application. Military veterans, their spouses and Florida National Guard members may be eligible for a fee waiver, fee reimbursement, and/or fee discount. 
  • An applicant must have a background check as part of the licensing process. 
  • Complete the application by clicking on the “Online Services” link or the “Printable Application” link at the bottom of the page. 

Post-License Requirement

  • Successfully complete post-licensing class for sales associate consisting of at least 45 classroom-hours, before your initial sales license expires.
  • Even if your license is inactive, you’ll still need to complete the post-licensing course before the license expires. You’ll need at least 45 classroom hours.